Skip to main content

Idaho Fish and Game

River Otter Harvest Quota

The river otter trapping season opens October 15 in the Southeast Region, October 22 in the Upper Snake and Salmon Trapping Regions, and November 1 in the Panhandle, Clearwater, Southwest and Magic Valley Trapping Regions.

The map at the bottom of this page shows the counties within each trapping region; county descriptions are located near the map. The table below displays the status of each region for the current trapping season.


River Otter Quota Status

Updated: December 4, 2023
Trapping RegionHarvest QuotaOtters HarvestedHarvest Quota RemainingStatusSeason Dates
Panhandle451827OPENNov 1 - Mar 31, 2024
Clearwater20713OPENNov 1 - Mar 31, 2024
Southwest20173OPENNov 1 - Mar 31, 2024
Magic Valley30327OPENNov 1 - Mar 31, 2024
Southeast15411OPENOct 15 - Mar 31, 2024
Upper Snake15132OPENOct 22 - Mar 31, 2024
Salmon15510OPENOct 22 - Mar 31, 2024
The river otter season will close in each region 72 hours after the harvest quota for that region is reached. Trappers will be allowed to keep otters within this 72-hour period provided their personal quota of 3 has not been filled. Please call 1-800-323-4334 for the most up-to-date information on harvest limits and closures.


Trapping Regions
  • Panhandle - Benewah, Bonner, Boundary, Kootenai and Shoshone counties.
  • Clearwater - Clearwater, Idaho, Latah, Lewis and Nez Perce counties.
  • Southwest - Ada, Adams, Boise, Canyon, Elmore, Gem, Owyhee, Payette, Valley and Washington counties.
  • Magic Valley - Blaine, Camas, Cassia, Gooding, Jerome, Lincoln, Minidoka and Twin Falls counties.
  • Southeast - Bannock, Bear Lake, Bingham, Caribou, Franklin, Oneida and Power counties.
  • Upper Snake - Bonneville, Butte, Clark, Fremont, Jefferson, Madison and Teton counties.
  • Salmon - Custer and Lemhi counties.
Idaho trapping regional boundaries.