Press Release

Trapper education course scheduled May 5 in Salmon

Trappers encouraged to complete course now, as new mandatory trapper education law takes effect July 2018

Beginning July 1, 2018, every trapper who purchased their first trapping license after June 30, 2011 will be required to attend and pass a mandatory trapper education course before they can purchase an Idaho trapping license.

Trappers that have successfully passed and are certified through the Idaho voluntary trapper education course are exempt, but new trappers will be required to take the course starting in 2018. Those who have taken only a wolf trapping education course are not exempt and must take the Idaho trapper education course.

Idaho Fish and Game will host at Trapper education course on Saturday, May 5 from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. at the Fish and Game Office, 99 Highway 93 North.

The course covers basic trapping techniques with a strong focus on safety and ethical trapper behavior. Selecting safe and responsible trap set locations is emphasized throughout. Other topics include furbearer behavior and management, trapping regulations, equipment selection and maintenance, avoiding non-target catches, and pelt preparation.

Space is limited and registration is required. Participants must be at least 9 years of age and can register at the Fish and Game office or online at https://idfg.idaho.gov/hunt/education. Registering at a Fish and Game office costs $8. Online registration by credit card requires an added convenience fee of $1.75.

The general furbearer trapping class does not qualify people for the purchase of wolf trapping tags. To trap wolves in Idaho, completion of a wolf trapping class is required. When registering, please be certain to sign up for the course you actually want to complete.

For more information, contact the Idaho Fish and Game office in Salmon at 208-756-2271.