River Otter Harvest Quota

River otter
Trapping Seasons

The river otter trapping season opens October 22 in the Southeast, Upper Snake, and Salmon Trapping Regions, and November 1 in the Panhandle, Clearwater, Southwest and Magic Valley Trapping Regions.

All seasons close no later than March 15 statewide.

The map on this page shows the counties within each trapping region. The chart displays the status of each region for the trapping season.

The river otter season will close in each region 72 hours after the harvest quota for that region is reached.

Trappers will be allowed to keep otters within this 72-hour period provided their personal quota of 2 has not been filled.

River Otter Harvest Information

Updated: March 15, 2016
Trapping Region Harvest Quota Number Harvested Harvest Quota Remaining Status Season Dates
Panhandle 40 40 0 CLOSED Nov 1 - Mar 15
Clearwater 20 19 1 CLOSED Nov 1 - Mar 15
Southwest 20 20 0 CLOSED Nov 1 - Mar 15
Magic Valley 30 17 13 CLOSED Nov 1 - Mar 15
Southeast 15 6 9 CLOSED Oct 22 - Mar 15
Upper Snake 15 14 1 CLOSED Oct 22 - Mar 15
Salmon 15 11 4 CLOSED Oct 22 - Mar 15
TOTALS 155 127 28    
Seasons close when harvest quotas are met or season ends.
Please call 1-800-323-4334 for the most up-to-date information on harvest limits and closures.

Trapping Regions

Panhandle - Benewah, Bonner, Boundary, Kootenai and Shoshone counties.
Clearwater - Clearwater, Idaho, Latah, Lewis and Nez Perce counties.
Southwest - Ada, Adams, Boise, Canyon, Elmore, Gem, Owyhee, Payette, Valley and Washington counties.
Magic Valley - Blaine, Camas, Cassia, Gooding, Jerome, Lincoln, Minidoka and Twin Falls counties.
Southeast - Bannock, Bear Lake, Bingham, Caribou, Franklin, Oneida and Power counties.
Upper Snake - Bonneville, Butte, Clark, Fremont, Jefferson, Madison and Teton counties.
Salmon - Custer and Lemhi counties.

                            trapping regional boundaries.