Interstate Wildlife Violator Compact

In 1989 Colorado, Nevada and Oregon entered into a newly formed Wildlife Violator Compact. In 1991, Idaho and Arizona joined the compact. Today, 39 states spanning the country have become members of the compact.

The Wildlife Violator Compact (WVC) assures non-resident violators receiving citations for certain wildlife violations in participating states the same treatment accorded residents who are in violation. Procedures are established which cause a non-resident violator who fails to comply with the terms of a citation issued in a participating state to face the possibility of the suspension of his wildlife license privileges in his home state until the terms of the citation are met. Safeguards are built into the WVC to assure that a non-resident violator is afforded all due process protection.

The WVC provides for the reciprocal recognition of the suspension of license privileges by participating states. The reciprocal recognition of suspensions is intended to address the problems associated with the mobility of many violators.

Finally, the WVC provides that information on convictions in participating states shall be forwarded to the home state of the violator. The home state shall treat such convictions as if they had occurred in that state for the purposes of license suspension actions. The WVC not only assures equal treatment of residents and non-residents of participating states, but also enhances the law enforcement services and deterrent value of time spent patrolling by uniformed officers.
Interstate Wildlife Violator Compact
Member States and Effective Dates
State Effective Date
Alabama 3/1/2010
Alaska 9/8/2008
Arizona 10/14/1991
California 1/01/2002
Colorado 2/25/1991
Florida 9/01/2006
Georgia 6/01/2003
Idaho 3/15/1991
Illinois 7/01/2007
Indiana 10/31/2001
Iowa 8/31/2001
Kansas 11/1/2005
Kentucky 7/15/2008
Louisiana 2/01/2009
Maryland 2/28/2000
Michigan 8/8/2005
Minnesota 3/01/2000
Mississippi 9/01/2007
Missouri 12/20/1999
Montana 2/3/1996
Interstate Wildlife Violator Compact
Member States and Effective Dates
State Effective Date
Nevada 2/19/1991
New Mexico 8/30/2001
New York 3/01/2006
North Dakota 8/15/2001
Ohio 1/01/2008
Oklahoma 9/20/2010
Oregon 2/19/1991
Pennsylvania 1/1/2011
South Carolina 7/1/2012
South Dakota 9/01/2004
Tennessee 11/01/2006
Texas 5/30/2010
Utah 3/01/1993
Virginia 12/1/2011
Vermont 1/1/2013
Washington 3/15/1991
West Virginia 11/23/2009
Wisconsin 4/15/2008
Wyoming 8/3/1996
Last Updated: February 5, 2015 
Top of page