Press Release

Fishing Trailer Scheduled for Local Pond Tour

Stocked with equipment and information, Fish and Game’s fishing trailer will soon be making more than 25 appearances at local ponds across the region, promoting fishing as part of a healthy outdoor lifestyle.

To learn more about the trailer program, contact the Fish and Game Nampa office at 465-8465. More information regarding the fishing trailer program, including other regional trailer schedules, are posted on Fish and Game’s website at https://idfg.idaho.gov/fish/trailers.

With its exterior wrapped completely with vibrant fish illustrations, the trailer is hard to miss. “The big fish and vivid colors make the trailer a kid magnet,” Fish and Game conservation educator Evin Oneale said. “That’s what we’re after; a focal point to help get a kid excited about fishing.”

But the important stuff is inside the trailer. “The idea is to bring fishing equipment and fishing expertise to what we call our ‘bicycle fisheries’ – local neighborhood ponds,” Oneale noted. “All kids and their parents have to do is show up; we’ll get them geared up and on the water.”

“We hope our efforts will get kids excited about fishing and help build a new generation of anglers,” Oneale added.

The trailer’s 2018 schedule will kick off at Kleiner Pond in Meridian on Saturday, April 7th followed by a stop at Settlers Pond on Wednesday, April 11th. A fishing license is not needed by any participant that registers at the trailer for the duration of the event, regardless of age or residency. “Everyone is welcome at these events, but we want to make a point of inviting kids and their parents who have an interest in fishing but lack the equipment and perhaps the knowledge to get started,” Oneale said. “The only cost is a bit of time, and the idea is to help people gain enough fishing experience and confidence to strike out on their own and enjoy fishing as a fun, family activity.”

 

2018 Southwest Region Fishing Trailer Schedule

Date           Location           Time

Saturday, April 7 Kleiner Pond 10:00am-2:00pm

Wednesday, April 11 Settlers Pond 4:00pm-8:00pm

Thursday, April 12 McDevitt Pond 4:00pm-8:00pm

Saturday, April 14 Esthers Pond 10:00am-2:00pm

Wednesday, April 18 Williams Pond 4:00pm-8:00pm

Thursday, April 19 Wilson Ponds 4:00pm-8:00pm

Saturday, April 21 McDevitt Pond 10:00am-2:00pm

Wednesday, April 25 Settlers Pond 4:00pm-8:00pm

Thursday, April 26 Kleiner Pond 4:00pm-8:00pm

Saturday, April 28 Eds Pond 11:00am-3:00pm

Wednesday, May 2 Esthers Pond 4:00pm-8:00pm

Thursday, May 3 Wilson Ponds 4:00pm-8:00pm

Saturday, May 5 Weiser Pond 10:00am-2:00pm

Wednesday, May 9 Williams Pond 4:00pm-8:00pm

Thursday, May 10 Settlers Pond 4:00pm-8:00pm

Saturday, May 12 Kleiner Pond 10:00am-2:00pm

Wednesday, May 16 Sawyers Pond 4:00pm-8:00pm

Thursday, May 17 McDevitt Pond 4:00pm-8:00pm

Saturday, May 19 Sego Prairie Pond 10:00am-2:00pm

Tuesday, May 22 Marsing Pond 10:00am-2:00pm

Wednesday, May 23 Wilson Ponds 10:00am-2:00pm

Thursday, May 24 Kleiner Pond 4:00pm-8:00pm

Saturday, May 26 Eagle Island Pond 10:00am-2:00pm

Thursday, May 31 McDevitt Pond 4:00pm-8:00pm

Saturday, June 2 Mill Pond 10:00am-2:00pm

Saturday, June 9 Kleiner Pond 9:00am-2:00pm

 

- IDFG -

Creative Commons Licence
Evin Oneale, IDFG