
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

IDFG adheres to all applicable state and federal laws and 
regulations related to discrimination on the basis of race, color, 
national origin, age, gender, or handicap. If you feel you have been 
discriminated against in any program, activity, or facility of IDFG, 
or if you desire further information, please write to: Idaho 
Department of Fish and Game, P.O. Box 25, Boise, ID 83707; or 
The Office of Human Resources, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, 
Department of the Interior, Washington, DC 20240. 

 
Costs associated with this publication are available from IDFG in 
accordance with section 60-202, Idaho Code. 4-09 

Other Relevant Statutes & Rules 
The following acts are unlawful by statute or commission 
rule. Consult Title 36, Idaho Code, or the 2019-2021 Idaho 
Fishing Seasons and Rules for exact wording and complete 
listing. 

 
It Is Unlawful: 
• To fish within the posted upstream or downstream 

boundary of any fish weir or trap. 
• To refuse to produce license or fish for inspection upon 

request by a conservation officer. 
• To fail to stop and report at check stations established to 

inspect licenses and fish and game. 
• To possess, transport or use as bait any live fish, leeches, 

frogs, salamanders, waterdogs, or shrimp as bait, except 
that live crayfish may be used if caught on the body of 
water being fished. 

• To catch any part of another person’s bag limit, EXCEPT 
in the case of license-exempt persons fishing for salmon 
and steelhead. 

• To transport for another or accept as a gift any game fish, 
unless a statement signed by the taker accompanies the 
fish, showing the number and kinds, the date taken, the 
taker’s name, address and fishing license number. 

• To claim ownership to more wild game or fish taken 
within the state of Idaho than allowed by established 
possession limits. 

• To ship any fish by commercial carrier unless the outside 
of the package is marked as to the number and kinds of 
fish and the package contains a written statement showing 
the taker’s name, address and fishing license number. 

• To use seines, dip nets, spears, snag hooks, or any other 
contrivances in taking any fish from the waters of the state 
EXCEPT as allowed by Commission regulation. (Note: 
Tribal fisheries may use gear types other than those 
allowed in sport fisheries) 

Licenses, Permits and Requirements 
 
 
Resident Salmon Permit (License Required)……..$15.25 
Resident Price Locked Salmon Permit...................$12.75 
Nonresident Salmon Permit (License Required)….$25.75 

 
 

• Any person, age 14 and older, must have a valid Fishing 
License and Salmon Permit in possession to fish for 
salmon. 
 

• Any person, age 14 and older, who does not qualify as a 
resident must purchase a Nonresident Season Fishing 
License and Salmon Permit, a Nonresident Junior 
Fishing License and Salmon Permit, or a 3-Day 
Salmon\Steelhead License to fish for salmon. 
 

• To qualify for resident status, a person must be 
domiciled in the state for at least six months. 
 

• Children (including nonresidents) under the age of 14 
may fish without a license and salmon permit provided 
they are accompanied by the holder of a valid permit and 
that any Coho Salmon kept must be recorded on the 
permit holder’s card and all salmon kept must be 
counted in the permit holder’s legal bag, possession, and 
season limit. 
 

• Resident children under the age of 14 may purchase their 
own salmon permit so that they may catch their own 
limit of salmon. 
 

• Nonresident children under the age of 14 may purchase a 
Nonresident Junior Fishing License and a salmon permit 
so that they may catch their own limit of salmon. 
 

• Children (including nonresidents) under the age of 14 
may purchase a two pole permit. 

• To waste game fish. 
• To sell fish without a permit. 

 
• Consult the 2019-2021 Fishing Seasons and Rules 

brochure for other regulations relating to fishing, license 
costs and other Department information. 

 

 

Special Restrictions 
 

Fishing from the shoreline or wading along the 
perimeter of Dworshak National Fish Hatchery is 
prohibited. Fishing is also prohibited in the area of the 
ladder to the Nez Perce Tribal Hatchery (approximately 
1 mile upstream of the Cherry Lane Bridge) as 
delineated by posted boundaries approximately 100 
yards upstream and downstream from the ladder, and 
extending into the river channel approximately 50 
yards. 

 
North Fork Clearwater River:  The mouth of the 
North Fork Clearwater River is defined as a straight 
line between the posted signs located at the Clearwater 
Hatchery outlet culvert on the west side and at the tip of 
land below the Dworshak Hatchery on the east side. 
Fishing from the shoreline or wading along the 
perimeter of Dworshak National Fish Hatchery is 
prohibited. Fishing from any watercraft or wading is 
prohibited between the posted line approximately 150 
yards upstream from the mouth of the North Fork 
Clearwater River to the Ahsahka Highway 7 Bridge. 
When fishing from the Ahsahka Highway 7 Bridge, it is 
unlawful to take or attempt to take any fish downstream 
of the railroad bridge.  Fishing from the railroad bridge 
is prohibited. 

Snagging 
It is unlawful to take or attempt to take salmon 
by snagging. Snagging shall mean the taking or 
attempting to take a fish by use of a hook or 
lure in any manner or method other than 
enticing or attracting a fish to strike with, and 
become hooked in its mouth. A salmon that has 
been hooked anywhere other than its mouth or 
jaw must be released. 
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Seasons & Rules 
Clearwater River 

North Fork Clearwater River 
Middle Fork Clearwater River 

Illustration by Joseph Tomelleri 

Salmon in this brochure refer to anadromous (ocean 
run) Coho Salmon of the species Oncorhynchus 
kisutch. 
 

Idaho Department of Fish and Game 
Ed Schriever, Director 

P.O. Box 25, Boise, ID 83707 
Phone: (208) 334-3700 

https://idfg.idaho.gov/fish/coho
Citizens Against Poaching 

1-800-632-5999 
Tribal fisheries also occur in Idaho. They are 

governed by the Tribes and have different 
rules than Idaho sport fisheries. Please be 

respectful of these different fishing traditions. 

https://idfg.idaho.gov/fish/coho
https://idfg.idaho.gov/fish/coho
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Spots through- 
out caudal fin 

Black gums 120o angle 
between 
anal fin and 
tail 

 

Seasons 
Open September 15 through December 31, or 
until further notice, whichever comes first 
The following waters are open to fishing for Coho Salmon 
during the period listed above. Waters not specifically 
designated below shall remain CLOSED to fishing for Coho 
Salmon unless opened by Commission action. 

Clearwater River: From its mouth upstream to Memorial 
Bridge: open 7 days per week. 

Clearwater River: From Memorial Bridge upstream to the 
confluence of the Middle Fork Clearwater and South Fork 
Clearwater rivers: open 4 days per week (Thursday through 
Sunday) until October 18, 2020, then open 7 days per week 
through the end of the season (see Mainstem Clearwater 
River special restrictions in this brochure). 

 
North Fork Clearwater River:  From its mouth upstream 
to Dworshak Dam: open 4 days per week (Thursday through 
Sunday) until October 18, 2020, then open 7 days per week 
through the end of the season (see North Fork Clearwater 
River Special Restrictions in this brochure). 
 
Middle Fork Clearwater River:  From the mouth of the 
South Fork Clearwater River upstream to the confluence of 
the Selway and Lochsa rivers: open 4 days per week 
(Thursday through Sunday) until October 18, 2020, then 
open 7 days per week through the end of the season. 

 

Fishing Hours 
Fishing for Coho Salmon is permitted 24-hours a day 
during the designated season and locations 

 
Daily, Possession, & Season Limits 
• Daily Bag  Limit:  Two (2) Coho Salmon 

• Possession Limit:  Six (6) Coho Salmon 

• Season Limit:  There is no limit on the number of 
Coho Salmon that can be harvested during the 2020 
season. 

Anglers must cease fishing for Coho Salmon once they have 
retained their daily or possession limit. 

Methods of Take 
A. Only barbless hooks may be used when fishing for 

salmon. Bending the barb(s) down to the shank of a 
single, double, or treble hook will meet this 
requirement. 

B. It is unlawful to use any hook larger than 5/8 inch 
measured from the point of the hook to the shank 

 

 
 

Harvest Rules 
A. Coho Salmon with an adipose fin can be harvested. 

Please be aware that steelhead and fall Chinook 
Salmon occur in these waters, and are subject to 
different rules and regulations. Know the 
difference between these species. (see illustrations 
in this pamphlet for examples). 

Adipose Fin 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

No person shall have in the field or in transit a hatchery- 
produced adult anadromous salmon that has been 
processed by removing the head and tail unless the 
following conditions are met: 1) the fish has been 
recorded on the taker’s salmon permit; 2) the fish is 
processed and packaged with the skin naturally attached 
to the flesh including a portion with a healed, clipped, 
adipose fin scar or the adipose fin and 3) it must be 
packaged in a manner that the number of fish harvested 
can readily be determined. No person shall process 
salmon until they are ashore and done fishing for the 
day. No person shall transport processed salmon via 
boat. Any processed salmon count towards an angler’s 
possession limit while in the field or in transit. 

 

B. All salmon that are hooked, landed and reduced to 
possession must be killed immediately after landing 
and shall be counted in the limits of the person 
hooking the fish. 

Permit Validation 
Any angler fishing for Coho Salmon must have a valid 
salmon permit. This is the same permit that can be used 
when fishing for Chinook Salmon. 

When a Coho Salmon has been hooked, landed and reduced 
to possession, the angler hooking the fish must immediately: 

A. Cut out and completely remove one numbered notch from 
the permit; and 
B. Look up the location code number from the list below and 
write it in the space provided; and 
C. Enter in space provided, the month and day fish was 
caught. 
Note: 
• When a salmon is released unharmed, as in catch-and- 

release fishing, the angler is not required to make an 
entry on the permit. 

• All harvested Coho Salmon, regardless of their size, 
must be recorded on their salmon permit. 

 
For example, a Coho Salmon harvested on October 20 from the 
Middle Fork Clearwater River would be entered as: 

 
Fish    

Bird
 Month 

Day 
Location 

Code 
Month 

Day 
Location 

Code 
Fish    

Bird
 

 10/20 06   21 

2     22 

3     23 

4     24 

5     25 

REMOVE NOTCH COMPLETELY! 
 

 

Know Your Fish 
Before you harvest a Coho Salmon, be certain of your 
species identification, as steelhead and fall Chinook Salmon 
may be encountered. The pictures below can help you 
identify these fishes. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Chinook Salmon 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Steelhead

 

 
 
 
 

Hook - Up to 3 points Single point hook - One 
on one shank point on one shank 

RIVER LOCATION CODES 
See Seasons section for full description 

of fishing boundaries. All of a river section 
may not be open for salmon fishing. 

 
Clearwater River 

Clearwater River, below the Orofino Bridge ................. 03 
Clearwater River, above the Orofino Bridge ................. 04 
North Fork Clearwater River ...........................................05 
Middle Fork Clearwater River .........................................06 

Coho Salmon Spots only on 
upper half of 
caudal fin 

White gums 
around base 
of teeth 

120o angle 
between 
anal fin and 
tail 

Spots through- 
out caudal fin 

White gums 
90-100o angle 
between anal 
fin and tail Releasing Fish 

Any salmon that is landed and not reduced to 
possession must be released. Anglers should strive to 
minimize handling and stress on each fish caught and 
released to maximize their chance to survive. 
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