
Other Relevant Statutes & Rules 

The following acts are unlawful by statute or commission rule.  

Consult Title 36, Idaho Code, or the 2016-2018 Idaho Fishing 

Seasons and Rules for exact wording and complete listing. 

 

It Is Unlawful: 

• To fish within the posted upstream or downstream boundary of 

any fish weir or trap. 
• To refuse to produce license or fish for inspection upon request 

by a conservation officer. 

•  To fail to stop and report at check stations established to inspect 
licenses and fish and game. 

•   To possess, transport or use as bait any live fish, leeches, frogs, 

salamanders, waterdogs, or shrimp as bait, except that live 
crayfish may be used if caught on the body of water being fished. 

•  To catch any part of another person’s bag limit, EXCEPT in the 

case of license-exempt persons fishing for salmon and steelhead. 

•  To transport for another or accept as a gift any game fish, unless 

a statement signed by the taker accompanies the fish, showing the 

number and kinds, the date taken, the taker’s name, address and 
fishing license number. 

•  To claim ownership to more wild game or fish taken within the 

state of Idaho than allowed by established possession limits. 

•  To ship any fish by commercial carrier unless the outside of the 

package is marked as to the number and kinds of fish and the 
package contains a written statement showing the taker’s name, 

address and fishing license number. 

•  To use seines, dip nets, spears, snag hooks, or any other 
contrivances in taking any fish from the waters of the state 

EXCEPT as allowed by Commission regulation. (Note: Tribal 

fisheries may use gear types other than those allowed in sport 
fisheries) 

• To waste game fish. 

• To sell fish without a permit. 

 

IDFG adheres to all applicable state and federal laws and regulations related to 

discrimination on the basis of race, color, national origin, age, gender, or handicap. If 

you feel you have been discriminated against in any program, activity, or facility of 

IDFG, or if you desire further information, please write to: Idaho Department of Fish 

and Game, P.O. Box 25, Boise, ID 83707; or The Office of Human Resources, U.S. Fish 

and Wildlife Service, Department of the Interior, Washington, DC 20240. 
 

Costs associated with this publication are available from IDFG 

in accordance with section 60-202, Idaho Code. 4-09/30,000/31801 

 

 

Licenses, Permits and Requirements 

Resident Fishing License ..................................  $25.75 
Resident Junior (14-17) Fishing License ...........  $13.75 
Resident Salmon Permit (License Required) .....  $12.75 
Resident Two-Pole Permit .................................  $13.75 
Nonresident Season Fishing License ................  $98.25 
Nonresident Daily Fishing License ....................  $12.75 
     (Each Consecutive day at initial purchase) ...  $6.00 
Nonresident Junior (under 18) Fishing License .  $21.75 
Nonresident Salmon Permit (License Required)  $25.75 
3-Day Salmon/Steelhead Permit (includes a 3-Day 
General Fishing License)  ..................................  $37.50 
Nonresident Two-Pole Permit ............................  $15.50 

 
 Any person, age 14 and older, must have a valid Fishing 

License and Salmon Permit in possession to fish for salmon.  

 Any person, age 14 and older, who does not qualify as a resident 
must purchase a Nonresident Season Fishing License and 

Salmon Permit, a Nonresident Junior Fishing License and 
Salmon Permit, or a 3-Day Salmon\Steelhead License to fish for 

salmon. 

 To qualify for resident status, a person must be domiciled in the 
state for at least six months. 

 Children (including nonresidents) under the age of 14 may fish 
without a license and salmon permit provided they are 

accompanied by the holder of a valid permit and that any 

salmon 24 inches or more in length kept must be recorded on 
the permit holder’s card and all salmon kept must be counted in 

the permit holder’s legal bag, possession, and season limit.  

 Resident children under the age of 14 may purchase their own 
salmon permit so that they may catch their own limit of salmon.  

 Nonresident children under the age of 14 may purchase a 
Nonresident Junior Fishing License and a salmon permit so that 

they may catch their own limit of salmon.  

 Children (including nonresidents) under the age of 14 may 

purchase a two pole permit.  

 The holder of a valid Idaho Fishing License and Salmon Permit 

may fish for salmon in the Snake River where it forms the 

boundary between the states of Idaho and Oregon, subject to the 
fish and game laws of Idaho, but may not fish from the 

shoreline, including wading, and may not fish in sloughs or 

tributaries on the Oregon side.  An Oregon license holder has 
the same rights and restrictions with reference to the Idaho side.  

Any angler who fishes on the Snake River is entitled to have in 

possession only the limit allowed by one license regardless of 
the number of licenses in possession. 

 Consult the 2016-2018 Fishing Seasons and Rules brochure for 

other regulations relating to fishing, license costs and other 

Department information.  
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Upper Salmon River 
 

 
 

 
 

Salmon in this brochure refer to anadromous (ocean 

run) Chinook Salmon of the species Oncorhynchus 

tshawytscha. 

 

Idaho Department of Fish and Game 
Virgil Moore, Director 

P.O. Box 25, Boise, ID 83707 
Phone: (208) 334-3700 

http://fishandgame.idaho.gov 

Citizens Against Poaching 

1-800-632-5999 

Illustration by  

 

How you can help protect salmon habitat 
 Where available use improved trails and stairs to 

access the river. 

 Heed signs to stay off rehabilitated areas near the 

river. 

 Avoid building campfires between the river and 

road except at developed campgrounds or when 

using fire pans. 

 Pack out all trash. 

http://fishandgame.idaho.gov/


Seasons 

The following waters are open to fishing for salmon during the 

periods listed. Waters not specifically designated below shall 

remain CLOSED to fishing for salmon unless opened by 

Commission action. In all waters open to salmon fishing, the 

season shall be 7 days a week until further notice. 

Open June 18 until further notice: 
 

Upper Salmon River: from the Copper Mine boat ramp 

approximately 2.5 miles upstream of the mouth of the Middle  

Fork Salmon River upstream to the posted boundary 

approximately 100 yards downstream of the weir and trap at 

Sawtooth Hatchery south of Stanley. 

 

South Fork Salmon River:  from the bridge on Forest Service 

Road 48 (Lick Creek/ East Fork South Fork Road) where it 

crosses the mainstem South Fork Salmon River just upstream of 

the confluence with the East Fork South Fork Salmon River, 

upstream approximately 32 river miles to a posted boundary 

approximately 100 yards downstream from the Idaho Fish and 

Game South Fork Salmon River weir and trap. 

 

Closing Dates: 
 

Areas will be closed by Closure Order signed by the Director of 

the Idaho Department of Fish and Game. 

Fishing Hours 

Upper Salmon River: Fishing is permitted from 5:00 AM to 

10:00 PM Mountain Daylight time. 

South Fork Salmon River: Fishing is permitted from 5:30 AM 

to 10:00 PM Mountain Daylight time.  

Methods of Take 
 
 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

A. It is unlawful to use any hook larger than 5/8 inch measured 

from the point of the hook to the shank. 

B.  Only barbless hooks may be used when fishing for salmon. 

Bending the barb(s) down to the shank of a single, double, 

or treble hook will meet this requirement. 

 

Daily, Possession, & Season Limits 

NOTE: Idaho Department of Fish and Game (IDFG) may 

implement in-season changes to seasons or limits.  For 

updated seasons and limits information consult a license 

vendor, an IDFG office, the IDFG salmon fishing hotline 
(855-287-2702) or the IDFG website: 

(http://fishandgame.idaho.gov/public/fish/?getPage=110 ) 

Adult Chinook Salmon are 24 inches or more  in length. 
Jack Chinook Salmon are less than 24 inches in length. 

 

All Waters 

 Daily Bag  Limit:  The combined daily bag limit for all 

waters that are listed as open to salmon fishing is four (4)  

salmon per day, only two (2) may be  adults. 

 Possession Limit:  12 salmon in possession of which  no 

more than six (6) may be adults . “Possession limit” shall 

apply to salmon while in the field or being transported to the 

final place of consumption or storage. 

 Season Limit:  No person may take more than twenty (20) 

adult Chinook Salmon statewide during 2016 salmon seasons 

occurring prior to September 1, 2016.  

Anglers may not fish in waters having special limits while in 

possession of fish in excess of those limits. (For example: an 

angler may not fish in a river  section with a daily bag limit of 

one adult salmon if they have harvested one or more adult 

salmon in another river section with the same or higher adult 

bag that day. 

Anglers must cease fishing for salmon once they have 

retained their daily, possession or season limit of adult 

salmon or their overall daily, possession or season limit of 

fish of any size, whichever comes first. 

Harvest Rules 

 

 
 

C. No person shall have in the field or in transit a hatchery-

produced adult anadromous salmon that has been processed by 

removing the head and tail unless the following conditions are 

met: 1) the fish has been recorded on the taker’s salmon 

permit; 2) the fish is processed and packaged with the skin 

naturally attached to the flesh including a portion with a 

healed, clipped, adipose fin scar and 3) it must be packaged in 

a manner that the number of fish harvested can readily be 

determined. No person shall process salmon until they are 

ashore and done fishing for the day. No person shall transport 

processed salmon via boat. Jack salmon may not be processed 

while in the field or in transit. Any processed salmon count 

towards an angler’s possession limit while in the field or in 

transit. 

D. All salmon that are hooked, landed and reduced to possession 

must be killed immediately after landing and shall be counted 

in the limits of the person hooking the fish. 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Permit Validation 

When an adult Chinook Salmon has been hooked, landed and 

reduced to possession, the angler hooking the fish must 

immediately: 

A. Cut out and completely remove one numbered notch from the 

permit; and 

B. Look up the location code number from the list below and 

write it in the space provided; and 

C. Enter in space provided, the month and day fish was caught. 

 When a salmon is released unharmed, as in catch-and-

release fishing, the angler is not required to make an entry 

on the permit. 

 While anglers may retain salmon less than 24 inches in 

length as part of their bag and possession limit they are not 

required to record them on their permit. 

For example, a salmon greater or equal to 24 inches length kept 

from the South Fork Salmon River on June 22 would be entered 

as: 

 

 

 

 

 

 

REMOVE NOTCH COMPLETELY! 

Length – tip of snout to tip of tail

RIVER LOCATION CODES 
See Seasons section for full description 

of fishing boundaries. All of a river section 
may not be open for salmon fishing. 

 

South Fork Salmon River 

Forest Service Road 48 bridge across the South 

Fork Salmon upstream to  the Idaho Fish and 

Game South Fork Salmon River wier ........................ 21 11 

Upper Salmon River 

Mouth of the Middle Fork Salmon River to the 

mouth of the North Fork Salmon River ..................... 15 

Mouth of the North Fork Salmon River upstream 

to the mouth of the Lemhi  River .............................. 16 

Mouth of the Lemhi River to mouth of the 

Pahsimeroi River ....................................................... 17 

Mouth of the Pahsimeroi River to the mouth of 

the East Fork Salmon River ....................................... 18 

Mouth of the East Fork Salmon River to the posted 

boundary about 100 yards upstream to the posted 

boundary about 100 yards downstream of the weir and 

trap at Sawtooth Hatchery  ........................................ 19 
 

A. Hatchery Chinook Salmon 

may be kept if the adipose fin 

has been clipped as evidenced 

by a  healed scar 
 
 

 

B. Chinook Salmon with an 

unclipped adipose fin MUST 

be released 
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Not greater than 5/8 Inch 

Only barbless hooks may be used 

Hook - Up to 3   

points on one shank 

Single point hook - One 

point on one shank 

Snagging 
It is unlawful to take or attempt to take salmon by 

snagging. Snagging shall mean the taking or attempting 

to take a fish by use of a hook or lure in any manner or 

method other than enticing or attracting a fish to strike 

with, and become hooked in its mouth.  A salmon that 

has been hooked anywhere other than its mouth or jaw 

must be released. 

Releasing Fish 

Any salmon with an intact adipose fin that is landed 

or any salmon that is landed but not reduced to 

possession must be released. Anglers should strive to 

minimize handling and stress  on each fish caught 

and released to maximize their  chance to survive. 

Tribal Fisheries 
Tribal fisheries also occur in Idaho. They 

are governed by the Tribes and have 

different rules than Idaho sport fisheries. 

Please be respectful of these different 

fishing traditions.  

http://fishandgame.idaho.gov/public/fish/?getPage=110

