
Other Relevant Statutes & Rules 

The following acts are unlawful by statute or commission rule. 

Consult Title 36, Idaho Code, or the 2016-2018 Idaho Fishing 

Seasons and Rules for exact wording and complete listing. 

 

It Is Unlawful: 

 

•  To fish within the posted upstream or downstream boundary 

of any fish weir or trap. 

• To refuse to produce license or fish for inspection upon 

request by a conservation officer 

•  To fail to stop and report at check stations established to 

inspect licenses and fish and game. 

•  To possess, transport or use any live fish, leeches, frogs, 

salamanders, waterdogs, or shrimp as bait, except that live 

crayfish may be used if caught on the body of water being 

fished. 

•  To catch any part of another person’s bag limit, EXCEPT in 

the case of license-exempt persons fishing for salmon and 

steelhead. 

•  To transport for another or accept as a gift any game fish, 

unless a statement signed by the taker accompanies the fish, 

showing the number and kinds, the date taken, the taker’s 

name, address and fishing license number. 

•  To claim ownership to more wild game or fish taken within 

the state of Idaho than allowed by established possession 

limits. 

• To ship any fish by commercial carrier unless the outside of 

the package is marked as to the number and kinds of fish and 

the package contains a written statement showing the taker’s 

name, address and fishing license number. 

•  To use seines, dip nets, spears, snag hooks, or any other 

contrivances in taking any fish from the waters of the state 

EXCEPT as allowed by Commission regulation. (Note: 

Tribal fisheries may use gear types other than those allowed 

in sport fisheries) 

•  To waste game fish. 
 

 

 

 

 

IDFG adheres to all applicable state and federal laws and regulations related to discrimination 

on the basis of race, color, national origin, age, gender, or handicap. If you feel you have been 

discriminated against in any program, activity, or facility of IDFG, or if you desire further 

information, please write to: Idaho Department of Fish and Game, P.O. Box 25, Boise, ID 

83707; or The Office of Human Resources, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, Department of the 

Interior, Washington, DC 20240. 
 
Costs associated with this publication are available from IDFG 

in accordance with section 60-202, Idaho Code. 4-12/15,000/pca 38276/36230 

 

 

Licenses, Permits and Requirements 

Resident Fishing License ...................................  $25.75 
Resident Junior (14-17) Fishing License ............  $13.75 
Resident Salmon Permit (License Required) .....  $12.75 
Resident Two-Pole Permit .................................  $13.75 
Nonresident Fishing License .............................  $98.25 
Nonresident Daily Fishing License .....................  $12.75 
 (Each consecutive day at initial purchase) ...  $6.00 
Nonresident Junior (under 18) Fishing License..  $21.75 
Nonresident Salmon Permit (License Required)  $25.75 
3-Day Salmon/Steelhead Permit (includes a  
3-Day General Fishing License)  .......................  $37.50 
Nonresident Two-Pole Permit ............................  $15.50 

 

 Any person, age 14 and older, must have a valid Fishing 

License and Salmon Permit in possession to fish for salmon. 

 Any person, age 14 and older, who does not qualify as a 

resident must purchase a Nonresident Season Fishing 

License and Salmon Permit, a Nonresident Junior Fishing 

License and Salmon Permit, or a 3-Day Salmon\Steelhead 

License to fish for salmon. 

 To qualify for resident status, a person must be domiciled in 

the state for at least six months. 

 Children (including nonresidents) under the age of 14 may 

fish without a license and salmon permit provided they are 

accompanied by the holder of a valid permit and that any 

salmon kept that is 24 or more inches in length must be 

recorded on the permit holder’s card and all salmon kept 

must be counted in the permit holder’s legal bag, possession, 

and season limit.  

 Resident children under the age of 14 may purchase their 

own salmon permit so that they may catch their own limit of 

salmon.  

 Nonresident children under the age of 14 may purchase a 

Nonresident Junior Fishing License and a salmon permit so 

that they may catch their own limit of salmon.  

 Children (including nonresidents) under the age of 14 may 

purchase a two pole permit.  

 The holder of a valid Idaho Fishing License and Salmon 

Permit may fish for salmon in the Snake River where it 

forms the boundary between the states of Idaho and 

Washington or Idaho and Oregon, subject to the fish and 

game laws of Idaho, but may not fish from the shoreline, 

including wading, and may not fish in sloughs or tributaries 

on the Washington or Oregon side.  Washington or Oregon 

license holders have the same rights and restrictions with 

reference to the Idaho side.  Any angler who fishes on the 

Snake River is entitled to have in possession only the limit 

allowed by one license regardless of the number of licenses 

in possession. 

 Consult the 2016-2018 Fishing Seasons and Rules brochure 

for other regulations relating to fishing, license costs and 

other Department information. 
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Seasons & Rules 
Snake River 

Mainstem Clearwater River 
Lower Salmon River 

 

 
 

Salmon in this brochure refer to anadromous (ocean run) 

Chinook salmon of the species Oncorhynchus tshawytscha. 

 

Idaho Department of Fish and Game 
Virgil Moore, Director 

P.O. Box 25, Boise, ID 83707 
Phone: (208) 334-3700 

http://idfg.idaho.gov 

Citizens Against Poaching 

1-800-632-5999 

 

Illustration by  

NOTE: Idaho Department of Fish and Game (IDFG) 

may implement in-season changes to seasons or limits.  

For updated seasons and limits information consult a 

license vendor, an IDFG office, the IDFG salmon 

fishing hotline 
(855-287-2702) or the IDFG website: 

(http://idfg.idaho.gov) 

 

Tribal fisheries also occur in Idaho. They 

are governed by Tribes and have different 

rules than Idaho sport fisheries. Please be 

respectful of these different fishing 

traditions. 

http://idfg.idaho.gov/
http://idfg.idaho.gov/


Seasons 
The following waters are open to fishing for fall Chinook 

Salmon during the periods listed. Waters not specifically 

designated below shall remain CLOSED to fishing for or 

targeting of fall Chinook Salmon unless opened by Commission 

action. In all waters open to fall Chinook salmon fishing, the 

season shall be 7 days a week until the closing date listed, or 

until further notice, whichever comes first. 

Opening Date:  September 1, 2016  

SNAKE RIVER: 
 From the Washington / Idaho border to Hells Canyon 

Dam. 

MAINSTEM CLEARWATER RIVER: 
 From a line at the mouth (from a posted sign on the north 

bank to the western-most point on the south bank) 

upstream approximately 1.7 miles to the Highway 12 

Memorial Bridge. 

LOWER SALMON RIVER 
 From its mouth upstream approximately 0.75 miles to Eye 

of the Needle Rapids. 

Closing Dates: 
 Clearwater River, Salmon River and the portion of the 

Snake River downstream of Cliff Mountain Rapids (River 

Mile 246.7 about 1.1 miles downstream of Hells Canyon 

Dam). October 31 or upon notice 

 Snake River from Hells Canyon Dam downstream about 

1.1 miles to Cliff Mountain Rapids (River Mile 246.7). 

November 17 or upon notice. 

Daily, Possession, and Season Limits 
Anglers meeting license and permit requirements may retain 

only adipose fin clipped adult and jack fall Chinook Salmon.  

Adult Chinook salmon are 24 or more inches in length. 

Jack Chinook salmon are less than 24 inches in length 

 
Daily Limit:  Daily: Six (6) adult Chinook salmon. No daily 

limit on jack Chinook salmon.   

Possession Limit:  Eighteen (18) adult fall Chinook salmon. 

No possession limit on jack Chinook salmon.  

Season: There is no limit on the number of Chinook salmon 

that an angler may harvest during the 2016 salmon season 

after September 1, 2016. An angler who fills their permit 

may purchase and additional permit. 

Fishing Hours 
Fishing for fall Chinook salmon is permitted 24-hours a day 

during the designated season and locations. 

Permit Validation 

When an adult adipose fin-clipped fall Chinook salmon has 

been hooked, landed and reduced to possession, the angler 

hooking the fish must immediately: 

A. Cut out and completely remove one numbered notch from 

his or her permit; and 

B. Look up the location code number from the list below and 

write it in the space provided; and 

C. Enter in the space provided, the month and day the fish was 

caught 

For example, an adult salmon kept from the Snake River 

downstream of the Blue Bridge on September 6 would be 

entered as: 

. 

 

 

 

 

 
REMOVE NOTCH COMPLETELY! 

Anglers may retain adipose fin-clipped jack Chinook salmon. 

Jack Chinook salmon are not part of the daily bag and 

possession limit and anglers are not required to record them on 

their permit.  

When a salmon is released (not reduced to possession), the 

angler is not required to make an entry on the permit. 

 

Methods of Take 

 

 

 
 

A. It is unlawful to use any hook larger than 5/8 inch measured 

from the point of the hook to the shank. 

B. Only barbless hooks may be used when fishing for salmon. 

Bending the barb(s) down to the shank of a single, double, or 

treble hook will meet this requirement. 

Harvest Rules 

Only hatchery salmon with a clipped adipose fin (as 

evidenced by a healed scar) may be kept. All salmon with an 

intact adipose fin must be released back to the water. 

 

 
C. No person shall have in the field or in transit a hatchery-

produced adult anadromous salmon that has been processed 

by removing the head and tail unless the following 

conditions are met: 1) the fish has been recorded on the 

taker’s salmon permit; 2) the fish is processed and packaged 

with the skin naturally attached to the flesh including a 

portion with a healed, clipped, adipose fin scar and 3) it must 

be packaged in a manner that the number of fish harvested 

can readily be determined. No person shall process salmon 

until they are ashore and done fishing for the day. No person 

shall transport processed salmon via boat. Jack salmon may 

not be processed while in the field or in transit. Any 

processed salmon count towards an angler’s possession limit 

while in the field or in transit. 

D. All salmon that are hooked, landed and reduced to possession 

must be killed immediately after landing and shall be counted 

in the limits of the person hooking the fish. 

Length – tip of snout to tip of tail

RIVER LOCATION CODES 
See Seasons section for full description 

of fishing boundaries. All of a river section 
may not be open for salmon fishing. 

Snake River 
WA / ID Border Upstream to Salmon River  ..... 01 

Salmon River upstream to Hells Canyon Dam ... 02 

Clearwater River 
Posted boundary at mouth upstream to  

Highway 12 Memorial Bridge   .......................... 03 

Lower Salmon River 

From its mouth upstream approximately 0.75 miles to 

Eye of the Needle Rapids ......................................... 10 

A. Only Chinook salmon 

with a clipped adipose 

fin (as evidenced by a 

healed scar may be kept. 
 

 

B. Chinook salmon 

with an unclipped 

adipose fin MUST 

be released. 
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Not greater than 5/8 Inch 

Only barbless hooks may be used 
Not greater than 5/8 Inch 

Only barbless hooks may be used 

Hook - Up to 3   

points on one shank 

Single point hook - One 

point on one shank 

Not greater than 5/8 Inch 

Only barbless hooks may be used 

Only barbless hooks may be used 

Not greater than 5/8 inch 


