Second chance drawing as an extra tag

I have already purchased a general tag. If I get drawn for a second chance controlled hunt, can I keep my general tag and purchase the second-chance tag at a non-resident rate, thus giving me a total of two tags?


No, unless the hunt you apply for is specifically listed as an extra hunt. Otherwise, you must choose one or the other. Please be aware of the Departments tag exchange rules which can be found on page 112 in the 2014 big game proclamation book.
Exchanging Deer or Elk Tags:
Hunters may exchange general season elk tags for use in another zone at any Fish and Game office. Deer hunters may exchange a regular season deer tag for a white-tailed deer tag or a white-tailed deer tag for a regular season deer tag at any Fish and Game office. The exchange must be completed before the first hunt opening date of the tag you currently possess. For elk general seasons with a tag quota, exchange must be made before the quota has been met.

Answered on: 
Thursday, August 14, 2014 - 8:23 AM MDT