Point System for Controlled Hunts?

It is getting harder to draw on controlled hunts each year, i have been putting in for the same unit to draw a late buck tag with no luck . It seems that every year I put in and don't draw I would earn extra entries into the controlled drawing. If this were to be done i would draw every 5-6 years, most states are going to this format and seems to work well.


The Idaho Fish and Game Commission has seriously considered point systems in the past, most recently in 2005 and 2010.  In 2005, the Commission adopted a point system contingent on the Idaho Legislature passing a law that allowed the Fish and Game Department to charge a small surcharge on each application to cover the cost of implementing the system.  The legislature debated a bill, but eventually rejected it and the point system was not implemented.  In 2009, the legislature passed a law that allowed the Department to charge no more than $4.50 per controlled hunt application to fund a point system should the Commission implement one.  In 2010, the Fish and Game Department proposed implementing a bonus point system (very similar to Nevada’s).  
Ultimately, the Commission failed to accept the proposal.  The Commission cited several reasons for not adopting a point system, including: 1) adding increased complexity to the licensing system, 2) impact on casual/youth hunters that would be disadvantaged by a point system, and 3) responding to substantive public perception that the Department was proposing a point system simply to increase revenues.  Additionally, comment received during the public scoping process indicated broad public disagreement on the specifics of any single system.  Areas of disagreement: bonus points vrs. preference points, whether a point-only option should be implemented, which hunts or what species should the system apply to, and whether a point system should be mandatory or voluntary.

Answered on: 
Friday, September 7, 2012 - 2:53 PM MDT