
Hunter Education - Frequently Asked 
Questions 
1. How are Idaho hunter and bowhunter education programs funded? The state receives 

funding for hunter education through the Pittman-Robertson Act. Idaho receives a portion of 
the excise tax dollars which are collected on the sale of firearms, archery equipment and 
ammunition throughout the United States. As a result students only pay a nominal $8.00 fee 
to cover the cost of course materials.  

2. Who must complete a hunter education course to obtain an Idaho Hunting License? 
Idaho law requires that anyone born after January 1, 1975 complete an approved hunter 
education course to purchase an Idaho hunting license unless the person has held a valid 
hunting license in Idaho or another state or the person has proof of completion of an 
approved hunter education course from another state. (Idaho Code Chapter 4, Title 36-411).  

3. How many hunter education students are certified annually? Over 7,000 Idaho hunter 
education students are certified annually by more than 850 experienced and knowledgeable 
volunteer instructors.  

4. How many bowhunter education students are certified annually? More than 2,000 Idaho 
bowhunter education students are certified annually by approximately 225 experienced and 
knowledgeable bowhunter volunteer instructors.  

5. How long is the Idaho Hunter Education Course and what topics are covered? The 
traditional classroom course is approximately 16-18 hours in length and includes a range and 
live-fire exercise. Topics covered include safe handling and operation of firearms, 
ammunition, archery and various hunting equipment, hunter responsibilities and ethics, 
wildlife management and conservation, hunting regulations, and other related information.  

6. What is the minimum age to enroll in an Idaho Hunter Education Course? Nine years 
old. They must meet the knowledge and skill standards outlined in the course curriculum to 
receive their course certificate. However, course graduates will not be able to purchase a 
hunting license until their tenth birthday.  

7. What are my options for completing the Idaho Hunter Education Course? Successful 
completion of the instructor-led or the independent study course will meet the hunter 
education course requirement to obtain an Idaho hunting license.  

8. Is there an online option for completing hunter or bowhunter education? Yes, the 
internet option is available for students 10 years old and above. Following completion of 
either of the online course options, students must also attend a 6-7 hour field day to receive 
their certification.  

9. Will other states honor my Idaho Hunter Education Certificate? By mutual agreement, 
using the International Hunter Education Association standards, all other 49 states and most 
Canadian provinces that require hunter education accept the Idaho course to meet their 
requirement.  

10. Who must complete a bowhunter education course? To purchase an archery-only permit 
in Idaho, all bow hunters must show proof they have completed the Idaho Bowhunter 
Education Course, or an approved bowhunter education course from another state, or show 
evidence of being previously licensed for an archery-only hunt in Idaho or another state.  



11. How long is the Idaho Bowhunter Education Course and what topics are covered? The 
bowhunter course averages about 12 hours. Topics include bowhunting techniques, ethics, 
shot selection and placement, the blood trail, safety, tree stands, and understanding your 
individual limitations and abilities.  

12. How do I become a hunter or bowhunter education instructor? Please see the 
qualifications to become an instructor.  

13. If I am only interested in bowhunting do I need to complete a hunter education course 
first? Yes, if you were born after January 1, 1975, you must successfully complete a hunter 
education course to obtain a hunting license unless you have previously held a valid hunting 
license in Idaho or another state. 

14. Is there a requirement to wear hunter orange in Idaho?   No.   But the wearing of hunter 
orange as a voluntary safety measure when appropriate for the hunt is strongly encouraged.   
However, when hunting any upland game during pheasant season, hunters on Fish and Game 
Wildlife Management Areas where pheasants are stocked must wear at least 36 square inches 
of hunter orange.   An orange hat satisfies this requirement.   Turkeys are considered an 
upland game bird, but the hunter orange rule does not apply to turkey hunters. 

15. What should I do if I think I see a hunter doing something illegal while I’m out 
hunting?   Get as much information as possible, such as a description of the person or 
persons, a description and license number of any vehicles, and note the location. Then “Make 
the Call” to the Citizens Against Poaching hotline at 1-800-632-5999 – 24 hours a day, seven 
days a week. Or fill out a report on Fish and Game’s website at: 
https://fishandgame.idaho.gov/feedback/getForm.cfm?getForm=3. Callers may remain 
anonymous and may be eligible for a reward if the information they provide leads to a 
citation. Or folks can contact a local Fish and Game conservation officer, the Idaho State 
Police or local law enforcement. 

16. What kinds of shot are legal for waterfowl hunting? Is lead shot still legal for any kind 
of waterfowl?   Lead shot is illegal for all waterfowl hunting, including ducks, mergansers, 
geese and coots. Hunters may not hunt waterfowl while in possession of shot other than 
nontoxic shot approved by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service. The shot must be 0.2 inches – 
T size – or smaller. Only steel shot or shot made from bismuth-tin, tungsten-iron, tungsten-
polymer, tungsten-matrix, tungsten-nickel-iron, tungsten-iron-nickel-tin, tungsten-tin-
bismuth, tungsten-tin-iron, tungsten-iron-copper-nickel, or tungsten-bronze, are on the list of 
approved nontoxic shot. For a proposed stocking schedule please see:  
http://fishandgame.idaho.gov/public/hunt/?getPage=275. 

 


